Costco Wholesale Student Discount 2026: Rules and How to Verify

Costco Wholesale gives students not a discount on the membership itself. New Gold Star members get a $20 Digital Costco Shop Card and new Executive members a $40 Digital Costco Shop Card; the memberships stay full price. Costco's own help page says plainly: 'While Costco doesn't offer free or discounted memberships, we do provide an exclusive college student offer to join Costco as a new member and receive a Costco Shop Card.' You verify through UNiDAYS. Here is exactly what you need and how long it lasts.

✓ Checked Sep 2026UNiDAYSRules from published quotes of the brand’s termsOfficial page ↗Home
What you get
Not a discount on the membership itself. New Gold Star members get a $20 Digital Costco Shop Card and new Executive members a $40 Digital Costco Shop Card; the memberships stay full price. Costco's own help page says plainly: 'While Costco doesn't offer free or discounted memberships, we do provide an exclusive college student offer to join Costco as a new member and receive a Costco Shop Card.'
Verify with
Verify as a student with UNiDAYS, then use the UNiDAYS 'Get now' link to join Costco online as a new member. Costco's help page routes you to its Student Membership Promotion link.
Who qualifies
College students joining as NEW members - existing or renewing members do not qualify. Dealhack adds a must-be-18-or-over rule; Costco's own text does not state an age.
How often to renew
Not stated by the brand; usually once a year

How to get it (3 steps)

  1. 1Verify as a student with UNiDAYS, then use the UNiDAYS 'Get now' link to join Costco online as a new member. Costco's help page routes you to its Student Membership Promotion link.
  2. 2Check that you qualify. College students joining as NEW members - existing or renewing members do not qualify. Dealhack adds a must-be-18-or-over rule; Costco's own text does not state an age.
  3. 3Use it. Not a discount on the membership itself. New Gold Star members get a $20 Digital Costco Shop Card and new Executive members a $40 Digital Costco Shop Card; the memberships stay full price. Costco's own help page says plainly: 'While Costco doesn't offer free or discounted memberships, we do provide an exclusive college student offer to join Costco as a new member and receive a Costco Shop Card.'

Good to know

One-time joining incentive, not an ongoing rate. Dealhack lists only the $20 card; UNiDAYS now shows two tiers ($20 Gold Star, $40 Executive).

Frequently asked questions

How do I verify for the Costco Wholesale student discount?

Verify as a student with UNiDAYS, then use the UNiDAYS 'Get now' link to join Costco online as a new member. Costco's help page routes you to its Student Membership Promotion link. (from published quotes of the Costco Wholesale terms, checked Sep 8, 2026.)

Who qualifies for the Costco Wholesale student discount?

College students joining as NEW members - existing or renewing members do not qualify. Dealhack adds a must-be-18-or-over rule; Costco's own text does not state an age.

How long does the Costco Wholesale student discount last?

Costco Wholesale does not publish a renewal rule. Verification services usually re-check you every 12 months. We re-check this page monthly (last review: Sep 8, 2026); if checkout shows something different, checkout wins.

Already verified with UNiDAYS? These use it too

One verification unlocks all of them, so these cost you nothing extra to claim.

Not affiliated with Costco Wholesale. Costco Wholesale's site blocks automated reading, so these rules come from published quotes of its terms, checked on Sep 8, 2026. If checkout shows something different, checkout wins.